Hi awesome people worldwide! May you be blessed with health and love πŸ’•. So, as promised, I will share my experience attending interview. We’ll gonna start with HSBC Cyberjaya, for the post Global Support Executive – Contact Center ☎. Quite memorable as it was my very first face to face interview after graduating πŸŽ“. And it was around a month ago. Hopefully my memory would give full cooperation. Hee 😊

To make it easier, I’ll take you throughout the application process from beginning until the end. So, here we go πŸ˜†

wp-image-356291885jpg.jpg
HSBC Cyberjaya lobby

1. Online  Application – I applied online through Jobstreet on 18/12 or 19/12/16.

2. Phone Assessment (19/12)– I received a phone call from HSBC Cyberjaya and went through a short phone interview. Was shocked as I’ve just applied for the position. I should say they are quite efficient πŸ‘. The interview was short and only basic questions were asked. I’m sorry I couldn’t remember what the questions were. But I believe it was  intended to see how well we could speak and the clarity of our voices via phone. Contact Center position, right. So, just speak clearly and confidently. If you can’t hear what they are saying, just ask them politely. Don’t worry, they’ll understand πŸ™‚

3. Online Assessment (20/12)– The next day, I received an email with special link for online assessment πŸ’». I answered it the next day (21/12) to prepare for the assessment beforehand. The questions could be understood easily. They gave situations and we have to choose the best solution and the least best for each of the situation given. The questions tested our understanding of the applied position. So, while studying for the assessment, try to understand the job scope of a Global Support Executive and situations which tend to be encountered when dealing with clients. All the best!

4. Interview Invitation (21/12) – On the same day, I received a call, again. And I was informed that I passed the assessment and got invited for interview. Alhamdulillah! There would be stages which include grammar test, phone screening and face to face interview.  So, I was scheduled for interview at 10.30 am on 27/12/16 at HSBC Cyberjaya. It was Tuesday and I chose that day because Tuesday was my friend’s off day (was planning to meet him πŸ‘¨).

5. Interview Day (27/12) – I reached HSBC around 9.30 am. It was a 2 hour journey from Lrt Gombak. To reach there, I took KLIA Transit from KL Sentral and stopped at Cyberjaya station. There are buses waiting right outside of the station. From there, I took the bus in lane 15 (can’t remember the bus no.) and stopped right in front of HSBC building. Don’t worry, it is quite easy to be reached. Just ask around if you are not sure, they’ll help πŸ™‚

There are two entrances to enter HSBC’s area. Please use the main entrance with the postguard as the other entrance is meant only for the employees. You will have to show your email invitation, fill in the guest book and leave your driving license. Don’t forget to take it before going home πŸ˜‰

Entering the building, I was like wowww! I love it! And I was just in the lobby, and love it already πŸ˜„ So, I was told to wait in the lobby. The whole interview processes were done in the lobby area, they have special rooms for that.

Waiting area

Only when I was talking to other candidates and reading other people’s experiences online that I knew, only those who pass the grammar test can move on to next stage. It was not explained before. But it’s okay, in life we have to expect the unexpected. 😎

Online English Test BUPLAS – After waiting for around an hour with other candidates (around 12 of us or more), we were called for the assessment in the glass room near the waiting area. The test comprised of grammar, cloze passage and listening. And it was timed ⌚ It was easy but can be confusing. Serious talk. Please study beforehand πŸ“–

Voice Assessment – Alhamdulillah I passed the English test. Can proudly show my degree πŸ‘ . Haha. For this assessment, we have to call HSBC branch abroad, either in India or Philippines. We had to read out a passage which only took few minutes and then discussed about a topic which can be chosen from two topics given. We were given time to prepare for the discussion. I chose the topic related to talent versus effort, quite interesting. After 5 minutes of talking about the topic, the interviewer would ask questions related to the discussion. We had a nice conversation. Oh yeah, my interviewer was from India. Talking to someone abroad, wow.

I believe this assessment was intended to analyse our tone, voice, opinions and how we react to questions. These aspects are very important for this position, isn’t it😏. What you can do, you can practise reading out passages at home. Make sure you use the right tone and know when to stop, to slow down and so forth. Would be best if you can have someone else listening to you. And please don’t talk too fast. Talk calmly and confidently. Sure it would be nerve wrecking but let’s try our best.🌹

Human Resource  Screening – I didn’t expect it, but Alhamdulillah I passed the voice assessment 😊 For this face to face interview with HR, I had to wait until 2.30 pm. I thought I could go back by noon. No babe, no πŸ˜…. There were 4 of us left. Proud I made it to this stage πŸŽ‰ The interview was more like a casual conversation. Most of the questions were asked to see our confidence level, flexibility in working and family background. He even asked me to talk about my village and he was friendly, really. It took around 15 to 20 minutes. So, just be prepared for unexpected questions and answer confidently. Don’t worry, the questions were all related to you, not factual. But again, always expect the unexpected.  Try not to show that you are nervous and make sure you are sitting up straight. πŸ‘

Interview with Line Manager – Only when I passed the interview with HR, that I knew there was second interview. This was the last stage and the most crucial one. The questions asked were related to our working experiences, our role in a team, languages that we knew, etc. Knowing other languages aside from English would be an advantage. It was only for 10 minutes. Sadly, I didn’t get the job but I’m really proud that I managed to reach the last stage. Be proud of yourself no matter what you achieve as you can always improve. I learned a lot, trust me πŸ˜‰.

Everything ended around 4 pm. It took me almost the whole day πŸ˜‚. And I was late for my next appointment because I didn’t expect it would take me that long. Sorry, my dear friend. I’m always on time before, right πŸ˜‰.

So, if you are going to attend this interview, clear your schedule at least until 4 pm. You don’t want to make your friend or family to be waiting for you, right. Be prepared. Read on HSBC (even though I was not asked even a single question on that). You have to know your future employer well. Practise speaking in English so that you can speak confidently. Dress up! πŸ‘”First impression matters and looking your best can make you more confident. Honestly, I feel more confident when I dress up and especially when I put on heels πŸ‘ . Hopefully this entry would be a great help. So, all the best 😊

Lots of love, Ξ–ΔωΔ β™₯

